As we go on through with our life we pick up along the way several life lessons and moral values that we believe are important in the way we live and work. Some of these values we learned by ourselves, and some we received from others in the form of teachings and advice. These values defines us, become the foundation of our characters and personality, and what make us into what we are today.

Here are top of those life lessons I have accumulated so far that have constant influence in how I live my life:

1. Nobody trips over mountains. It is the small pebbles that causes you to stumble. Pass all the pebbles in your path and you will find you have crossed the mountain.

I heard this quote for the first time when I was around 14 or 15 years old from my middle school English teacher, Mr. Antoni. At that time I asked him why should I even study for the quizzes and small tests if all I need is to do really well for the final exam. I always remember this lesson every time I feel sluggish, every time I want to cut corners, and every time I deem something to be unimportant without a thorough inspection.

2. Just because you can doesn’t mean you should.

Me and my dad were in our car at that time on the way home from somewhere I can’t remember. If I’m not mistaken, we were discussing about how to spend money wisely and I kept on saying that I will buy a lot of luxurious stuff because I have the money. This phrase always come to mind whenever I want to buy something I don’t need or tempted to overspend and many other situations that not involving money.

3. Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else, you are the one who gets burned.

I can’t remember when I encountered this Buddhist teaching but I have been applying it for as long as I can remember. As of today, I literally can’t remember when the last time I was angry. I did get frustrated every once in awhile but was never angry. I see being angry is just a waste of energy, and it’s better to just allocate that energy into fixing the situation that make you angry in the first place.

There are many more phrases and advice that I see as the foundation of my characteristic and personality such as; the value of respect (respect is earned not given), the value of forgiveness (from the Bible; if someone strike you on your cheek, offer the other), the value of charity (also from the Bible; that the value of your charity is not counted by the amount) and the value of love (treat others how you want to be treated.)

Extra:

“When you were born you were crying and everyone else was smiling. Live your life so at the end, your’re the one who is smiling and everyone else is crying.”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Mind sharing your favorite life lessons or moral values or advice?

