Today is the last day of 2016, and just like that another year is about to end. Most people seems eager to welcome 2017. I’m not entirely surprised though because, according to the Internet, 2016 was a total disaster. Many iconic celebrities passed away in 2016, such as: Muhammad Ali, Princess Leia, Professor Severus Snape, Harambe, and many more. Maybe Leonardo DiCaprio winning that Oscar early this year somehow opened the 7th Gate of Hell or something. Or maybe 2016 is such a disaster is because the majority of us all highlighted and payed more attention on the negatives instead of the positives. But then, bad news sells more newspaper than good news.

Luckily for me, 2016 has some rough patches every now and then but can still consider as a very good year. The majority of my time in the first three quarters of 2016 were spent working in the office. It’s all about work, work, and work. Just like an Indonesian proverb: Demi sesuap nasi translated to All for a spoonful of rice. Damn, that proverb is depressing. But this is far from a complaint; I learnt many new lessons, tried many new stuffs (both good and bad), did many new activities, made a lot of new friends, and shared many laughs. I am very much content.

In the last quarter of the year, I left Malaysia and came back home to Padang, Indonesia. My beloved hometown. A slight awkwardness on my side at first for the changes of habits and routines because usually I came home only  for a short visit like only a week or two once a year but this time, it’s going to be for months. I treat this change of pace and environment just like any other of my holidays. I game, read, and sleep a lot; things that I don’t have enough time to do back when I was still employed. Although I still go to gym and go to additional language course to pick up new one. Don’t want to get the brain rusty from inactivity.

My biggest responsibility has also downgraded from doing analysis for an e-commerce startup company to checking my niece’s math homework for any errors and teach her how to fix them. She constantly try to “persuade” me using candies to have a short-term memory loss every time my mum ask how many calculation error she made. Maybe I should just take the candies but still tell on her, right? You know, to teach her a little bit of how real life works out there. Although, considering the weight of the two options; To teach my niece that bribery is bad or to have a daily dose of candies? Did I ever made this decision? I’m not really sure… Short-term memory loss.

time-flies

 

